Mission Statement

To empower the next generation of scientists in the field of metabolomics in North America by supporting opportunities for mentorship, networking, training, and career development opportunities.


  • Provide professional and career development for MANA early-career members, including training, mentorship, and networking opportunities
  • Establish a community within the MANA early-career metabolomics network to encourage the exchange of metabolomics resources
  • Strengthen the metabolomics connections between industry, government, and academia
  • Promote metabolomics events/activities within North America


Anyone who has completed their most recent degree within the last 10 years is considered an Early Career Member within MANA!

Where are our members located?

View the interactive map HERE.

Connect today!

Email us. Follow us on Twitter. Add us on LinkedIn.

Early Career Member Council


Arpana Vaniya, Ph.D.

Academic Coordinator
University of California, Davis - West Coast Metabolomics Center (WCMC)
Davis, CA, USA

Areas of Expertise: LC-MS, Metabolomics, Compound Identification, Mass Spectral Reference Libraries, Professional Development in areas related to metabolomics, and Education in metabolomics


Nicole Prince, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Channing Division of Network Medicine (CDNM), Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA

Areas of Expertise: Metabolomic epidemiology, Biochemistry, Inflammatory response, Cell signaling

Financial Officer

Hanan Alwaseem, Ph.D.

Manager, Metabolomics Platform
Proteomics Resource Center, Rockefeller University, New York, NY, USA

Areas of Expertise: Analytical chemistry, Metabolomics, Lipidomics

Administrative Officer

Chathuri Mohottige, Ph.D.

Boston Analytical, Salem, NH, USA

Areas of Expertise: Metabolomics

Council Member

Robin Joshi, Ph.D.

Sr. Research Investigator
Perelman School of Medicine Institute of Translational Medicine and Therapeutics (ITMAT) University of Pennslyvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Areas of Expertise: Metabolomics, proteomics, volatilomics, lipidomics, ion-mobility, QA/QC, LC-MS, MALDI-TOF-MS, mass spectrometry, data analysis, and visualization

Council Member

Brian C. DeFelice, Ph.D.

CZ Biohub
San Francisco, CA, USA

Areas of Expertise: Gut-microbiome, infectious disease, pharmacology, unknown annotation, computation

Council Member

Maryam Tabatabaei , Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX, USA

Areas of Expertise: NMR, LC-MS, GC-MS in vivo metabolomics, NMR-based metabolomics, Mass-based metabolomics, metabolomics, lipidomics


Council Member

Gonçalo Jorge Gouveia, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow
Institute for Bioscience and Biotechnology Research
NIST & University of Maryland
Gaithersburg, MD, USA

Areas of Expertise: NMR & LC-MS, Metabolomics, QA/QC, Reference Materials, Sample preparation, Experimental Design, Metabolite ID, Forensic Drugs/Toxicology, Model Organisms


Council Member

Raquel Cumeras, Ph.D.

Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow
Institut d’Investigació Sanitària Pere Virgili
Reus, Catalonia, Spain

Areas of Expertise: Clinical applications, Metabolomics, Volatilomics, MS, NMR, QA/QC, Ion mobility spectrometry, MEMS, Data learning, Meta-analysis, Ethics, ML, Scientific dissemination

Previous ECM Council Members or Previous Positions:

  • David Crizer, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Jan 2021 to Feb 2023)
  • Brianna Garcia, Ph.D. (Inagural Financial Officer) (Oct 2019 to Jan 2023)
  • Fariba Tayyari, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Oct 2019 to Dec 2022)
  • Yuanyuan Li, Ph.D. (Inagural Vice Chair) (Oct 2019 to Nov 2022)
  • Candice Ulmer, Ph.D. (Inagural Administrative Officer) (Oct 2019 to Oct 2022)
  • Kehau Hagiwara, Ph.D. (Inagural Chair) (Oct 2019 to Jul 2021)
  • Arpana Vaniya, Ph.D. (Council Member) (May 2020 to Oct 2021)
  • Christina M. Jones, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Oct-2019 to Oct 2021)
  • Oana Zeleznik, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Oct 2019 to Oct 2021)
  • Franklin Earl Leach III, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Oct 2019 to Oct 2020)
  • Biswapriya Misra, Ph.D. (Council Member) (Oct 2019 to Mar 2020)